Enormous Growths/Endolymphatic Sacs on the Neck of a Green Anole

Can anyone advise our correspondent in North Carolina who writes about the anole above with enormous growths that may be endolympathic sacs out of control:

Maybe you have some ideas about this growth, which I originally thought were calcium storage seen in anoles, but this just looks like it is going to pop any second.  I bred this girl about 2.5 years ago and she usually lives with my boss unless he goes on vacation, which is when I take care of her.  I also still have her Dad and sister (long story and I’ll never do it again!).  I let the other eight (!) babies that I raised and Mom, who was used to the wild, go.  This girl has always been very hyper and green all the time and has laid a bunch of eggs this past spring and started getting these pockets (thought calcium).  But now the one side is sooo big!  She gets almost the same care as my two (Dad and sister), except maybe a little less sunlight (mine are at a window).  I was worried it is an abscess or parasite or something.  I asked someone at the NCSU vet school and he wasn’t sure.  Oh, she hasn’t been eating well, either, the last few days.

Attached is the photo of her and also a fun one for Christmas that was part of our Christmas card.  We rescued Dad out of a spider web when he was maybe a few days old.  He was dragging his hindlegs, but then regained his strength a few weeks later and we couldn’t let him go at that point.  The lady he made the other 10 babies with is a different story.  My husband found her inside our house and I told him to let her go, but instead he put her in with “Gimpy.”  They had sex the same night :).

from Anole Annals http://bit.ly/2Vlrx0Q

Leave a comment